Councillor Bill Sears


Bill Sears was born in Tofield and grew up on the family farm south of town. After graduating from Tofield High School, he obtained a diploma in Agricultural Management from Olds College and then studied agriculture at the the University of Alberta for 2 years before starting full time farming in 1973.

In 1992 Sears was elected as a County Councillor for Beaver county and served in that position for 3 terms. In 1993/94 the Provincial Government took the authority to operate schools away from Counties and proposed an amalgamation of School Boards into centralized divisions. Sears had the opportunity to be involved in the process of bringing together the 4 jurisdictions (the Counties of Beaver, Flagstaff, Camrose and City of Camrose Public ) that became Battle River Schools. He then went on to serve as a trustee with Battle River Schools for 3 terms.

Bill retired from farming in 2007.

In 2008 Sears was a founding member and Chairman of a landowners group that was formed to oppose, what if it had gone ahead, would have been the largest coal strip mine in Canada. Although the project is not going forward at this time he is proud of the contribution that VOCAL (The Voice of Community and Land Society) made to increasing the awareness of the social and environmental impacts the project would have had on the communities of Tofield, Ryley and Roundhill.

Since 2009 Bill has been a part time driver for Bi West Translines driving motor coaches throughout Western Canada and U.S.

In 2012 Bill and his wife Trudy moved to Camrose. They have a blended family of 2 daughters, 3 sons and 4 grandchildren.

Councillor Sears is currently serving on the following Committees:
  • Camrose and District Support Services
  • Camrose Green Action Committee
  • Community Transit Advisory Committee (Alternate)
  • Jeanne and Peter Lougheed  Performing Arts Centre Board of Governors
  • Municipal Planning Advisory Committee
  • Municipal Service Level Assessment Committee
  • Personnel Committee of Council
  • Policy Development Committee