The City of Camrose will be holding a municipal election on Monday, October 18, 2021.

General municipal elections are held every four years. Camrose voters elect one mayor and eight councillors to a four year term. When a vacancy occurs, a by-election is held if there is more than 18 months before the next general election. City of Camrose elections are regulated by the Local Authorities Election Act and the City of Camrose Election Bylaw.

The Offices of Mayor and Councillor are elected at large. This means that our Mayor and Councillors represent the entire population of the City, rather than a geographical ward as seen in larger Cities like Edmonton and Calgary.

The City of Camrose does not have a voter's list. Instead, voters may vote at any of the voting stations within the City of Camrose. Voter eligibility and identification requirements as well as voting stations will be posted in advance of any general municipal election.

Elections for our local school boards, Battle River Regional Division No. 31 and Elk Island Catholic Separate Regional Division No. 41, occur on the same day as our municipal election and are most often facilitated by the City of Camrose for voter convenience.

Nomination Period

  • Nomination period opens: Monday, January 4, 2021
  • Nomination period closes: Monday September 20, 2021, at 12 p.m.

Nominations for Mayor or Councillors will be accepted at City Hall (5204 - 50 Avenue, Camrose) from Monday, January 4, 2021, until 12:00pm on Monday, September 20, 2021. *Note due to City Hall closure as a result of COVID-19 anyone wishing to submit nomination packages must make an appointment with the Returning Officer, Kim Isaak, at 780.678.3027 or at


Candidates that have filed Nomination Papers for the October 18, 2021 Election as of March 1, 2021

Mayor for the City of Camrose
Councillor for City of Camrose
  • Lucas Banack

Information for Candidates

Candidates are responsible for understanding all legislation concerning elections, including nomination, eligibility, campaigning restrictions, campaign finance and disclosure, election offences and prohibitions at voting stations.

Additional Resources

Phone icon

Contact Us